Grays Harbor – and Cementing An Online Friendship


Grays Harbor National Wildlife Refuge is located adjacent to Bowerman Airport in Hoquiam.  It occupies just 2% of the intertidal habitat in Grays Harbor estuary yet hosts up to 50% of migrating shorebirds.  The mudflats here are the last to be flooded at high tide and the first to be exposed as the tide recedes.

In my previous entry, Developing A Passion for Photography, I mentioned that I had plans to meet with some online friends.  Another online friend, Andy, commented, “I’ve met a couple of my Flickr friends, and it’s so fun cementing the Flickr friendships with some face to face glue.”  After my experience on June 17th, I am happy to agree about that whole face-to-face-glue thing, because a friendship has been cemented.

Due to a change in travel plans, I did not get any face to face time with S, but the meeting with Dianna, which began with a comment thread in another of my previous entries, Raymond and Points Beyond, couldn’t have gone better.  What follows is the story of that visit.  And proof that you can meet people and find friends with common interests online.


Having promised to meet at 10:30 in a grocery store parking lot, I made it a point to arrive early so that I would have time to get a cup of coffee and stretch my legs a bit first.  After parking at the rendezvous spot, I strolled around, sipping my coffee, and saw the sparkle of water and channel marker just beyond the parking lot.

Channel Marker

I glimpsed a couple of masts and soon came into full view of the brig Lady Washington, a traditionally built replica.

Lady Washington

As it was nearly time to meet my new friend, I headed back to the parking lot, but had to stop when movement just ahead caught my eye.  It was a pair White-Crowned Sparrows and one of them allowed me to snap her picture.

White-Crowned Sparrow

Soon, Dianna arrived and it was as if we were old friends who hadn’t seen each other in ages.  I left my car there and we went on to Grays Harbor NWR in her car.  On approach to the Refuge and adjacent airport, we saw ospreys, including an active nest with a fledgling, and peregrines soaring and calling to each other.  I soon saw why I had been unable to find the Refuge by myself in earlier visits.  We parked where a gate barred access to unauthorized vehicles, then walked around the gate, past several hangars, to where the Refuge boardwalk began.  Along the way, we saw a lot of Cliff Swallow activity, including nest-building in the tracks of the hangar doors.  I can only hope that those doors don’t have to open any time soon.

Nest Building

The boardwalk passes through both wooded and open areas.  We heard many bird songs and saw lots of fleeting movements in the trees and underbrush.  There was one exuberant Song Sparrow that seemed so happy to see us that he serenaded us as we passed and was still singing joyfully on our return.

Song Sparrow Serenade

Toward the end of the boardwalk, there are a couple of places where benches await anyone wishing to sit and watch the mudflats of Grays Harbor.  This place is popular with migrating shorebirds but now, in June, there was little activity to be seen.  I didn’t mind, as it was such a gorgeous day.

Grays Harbor National Wildlife Refuge

Grays Harbor National Wildlife Refuge

There was one piece of driftwood that caught my eye and my companion commented that she wishes it were in her front yard.  I mean, really, what do you call driftwood that was the gnarled roots of a big tree?   Nature’s art?  The word “driftwood” doesn’t seem to do justice, so I dubbed it DriftART.

DriftArt

As we passed through a shaded area on the way back to the car, the sun caught this bracken fern just right, so of course, I had to take a picture.

17-Bracken Fern

We had a leisurely lunch on a riverfront deck outside a deli and then it was time to bring our visit to an end.  Before I got into my car to head back home, I noticed some public art that was now photogenic as the sun angle was much better than it had been when I arrived hours before.

17-Morrison Riverfront Park

Naturally, I felt compelled to get a closer look and see what was at first hidden behind the shrubbery.

The Workers

Quoting from the plaque on the base of this sculpture:  This memorial is erected in honor of and in gratitude to all those who worked in the woods, on the rivers and in the mills in and around Grays Harbor.  The efforts of their labors in helping to supply the timber needs of a growing nation made this a thriving and prosperous community.  Dedicated this 23rd day of November, 1996.  Anderson & Middleton Lumber Company, Founded in Aberdeen, Washington 1898.  Sculptor, Tom Morandi.

An hour and a half later, I was back home with my shoes off and my feet up, tired but content after enjoying a beautiful outing with an online friend now cemented with some face to face glue.

And already, we are planning our next bird-watching get-together.


My thanks to Andy for a new addition to my collection of quotable quotes.

And many thanks to Dianna for being who she is, and also for identifying the White-Crowned Sparrow, Song Sparrow, and Cliff Swallow.


For more information…

Lady Washington:
http://historicalseaport.org/

Grays Harbor National Wildlife Refuge:
http://www.fws.gov/refuge/grays_harbor/
http://www.fws.gov/refuges/profiles/index.cfm?id=13534

5 thoughts on “Grays Harbor – and Cementing An Online Friendship

  1. Superb day out BC, and a superb story.
    Ospreys are iconic here since being re-established, and are a joy to see. Jules and your friend are like minded – if she could have brought home every piece of driftart she swooned over, we’d have to yarden left, LoL.

    I’m so pleased you had a fab time with your new pal, and brought back adorable photos, memories and tales. Here’s to the next time – 🙂

    Andy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You snuck up on me! I now have your post notifications by email! :’ ) I’m also a big driftwood fan! A couple of years ago I climbed down the bank of the Cumberland River just upstream of the Falls to get a nice piece of driftwood I saw! Fortunately, the driftwood was high and dry, and I was in no danger of being swept away over the falls, lol!

    The refuge looks nice, and I hope the airplanes don’t interfere with things!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, the airplanes aren’t a bother. It is just a small regional airport, with no commercial flights and no jets. One small plane took off and a seaplane landed while we were there.

      Like

Share your thoughts?

