Update: Grassroots Political Activism


Last week, I wrote of my thoughts about taking a public stand on a local school bond measure.  I very much appreciate the comment that Calpoppy posted and it really got me to thinking more positively about taking that public stand.  (link to previous blog:   Grassroots Political Activism)

My husband and I did quite a bit of research since I posted that blog.  He checked into direct mail postcards.  I checked into the legalities of political advertising with the Washington State Public Disclosure Commission.  He found out that we could have a mailer printed on 6×9-inch card stock for around $300 and that the postal service has priced DDDM (Door to Door Direct Mail) service very reasonably so that mailing costs for our ZIP code would be around $300 as well.  Nowhere, though, could either of us find a map or other indicator of what area is served by the Toledo school district.  We know that the high school, at least, draws from a larger area than just Toledo, but how large an area?  Husband learned, for example, that students in the nearby town of Vader have a choice of attending either Toledo or Winlock high school.

This morning, the advertising rep for the Town Crier visited us.  That weekly newspaper serves Toledo, Vader, Winlock, Napavine, Castle Rock, and surrounding areas, so it certainly covers the entire Toledo school district.  We gave her the following ad copy:

Text for ad to run in the Town Crier weekly newspaper serving western Lewis County, WA.
Text for ad to run in the Town Crier weekly newspaper serving western Lewis County, WA.

In my research, I learned that any print ad must include not only our names, but also our address.  It is blurred out in this image because I feel that giving our address to southwestern Lewis County is enough.  The rest of the world doesn’t need it, too.

We debated for awhile the merits of forming our own political committee.  While the names of major donors and administrators of a political committee are a matter of public record, becoming a political committee would put one thin layer of privacy between us and the public.  For purposes of this one little grass roots campaign, the extra bother hardly seemed worth it.  Yes, there is some small possibility that a nut-case might decide to vandalize our home or look up our phone number and give us the benefit of their thoughts on the matter.  That really is unlikely, especially over a matter such as this.  We decided to forgo the veil of a political committee and just be ourselves.

In terms of expenditures, I learned that if we spend $500 in one month, we must report that to the State.  Nice if the reporting requirement could be avoided, but certainly not a deal-breaker.  The other little tidbit I gleaned was that the “Paid for by” statement must be in at least 10pt type with no formatting to make it less noticeable.  We passed that information along to the advertising rep this morning.

Next week, I will look for an email with the proof copy of the ad for our approval.  Then a check will be written to pay for it.  The ad will run in the October 15th issue of the Town Crier — the very same day that ballots will be mailed out to all voters.

The Voters Guide makes no mention of how much the bond will cost residents, but our ad will spell that out as clearly as I know how.  If the bond measure passes, that is the will of the people, but we can be happy that we helped the people make an informed decision.  If the bond measure fails, then we will know that our money was well-spent and we did a public service.

We have done a lot of thinking and learned quite a bit along the way, not only about advertising and election law, but also about ourselves.  Bottom line:  it isn’t that difficult and, at least in terms of local issues, it doesn’t have to be horribly expensive.  What it does require is a willingness to stand up on that virtual soap box in the town square and let your voice be heard.  I am not the sort of person who can make a difference on broader issues, but I certainly might be able to make a difference in my own community.  That really is what “grassroots” is all about.


(And in case any of you are wondering, I am not a tea partier.  I am a progressive liberal independent.  I am an advocate of public spending for the common good — things like infrastructure and universal health care and job training.  I am, however, a very strong proponent of common sense and responsible choices.  To my way of thinking, issues of public spending should only be approved if they make sense and are reasonable, not just because they are put on the ballot.)

4 thoughts on “Update: Grassroots Political Activism

  1. The copy of what you are putting in the newspapers is very well done and thought out! Kudos to you and your husband for sticking up for what you believe in. I really believe that politicians and corporations want us to remain apathetic, this insures their powers. So the more we grumble, the more we point out what they are doing wrong and on the other hand what they are doing right, we have the power not them! To win the battle is great, but it takes time to change a generation of apathetic voters!!!

    Mike, it never ceases to amaze me how religion takes away any kind of sensibilities in people. Like an ex-friend of mine saying that being gay is a choice, REALLY? Or let us ignore science again and believe that the world is only 6000 years old. I think that statement plus other factors brought our friendship to a close. I just can’t abide people with no real thoughts of their own, LOL!

    I realize that my own fights for animals and the environment will not be won in my life time, but it is just my nature not to let the bullies of the world take over!!!!! So I continue to yell and scream, LOL!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Calpoppy! You keep on yelling and screaming where and when you see the need. Good news for me today. 4 columns X 10 inches for the ad is going to cost $440, so there will be no need to report to the State. Yippee!

      Like

  2. I followed the link I have, as I was interested in the comment you made over in WU. I have read both entires on the school vote, and think you and DH deserve a big pat on back! Many folk would feel aggrieved by the planned increase, but stick their heads in the sand like ostrich. Your actions have hopefully stirred up a few voters and knocked them off the fence.
    I do take issue with the amount they want to raise. When I retired, the school was about to be closed and ‘lock, stock and barrel’ move into a new, much more modern building built at the bottom of the school field. The school has nearly 1000 pupils and 100 staff (teachers and ancillaries). The cost of the new school? 5.6 million pounds, which is less than 10 million dollars. So why do they need 23 million dollars for 300 children!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for that comparison, Sandi. If a new school for 1000 students cost $10M, why this 35-year-old school with 300 students needs $20M worth of anything is beyond me. It would sense to upgrade the electrical system to accomodate all the high-tech gizmos or replace the floor coverings, but I hardly think that would cost more than $1-2M.

      Friday morning, two days after the ad ran in the newspaper, I did receive one call from another resident who thanked me for running that ad. After reading it, she called in to a Lewis County radio station’s morning talk show to voice her opposition to the bond measure.

      Like

Share your thoughts?

